This is what I do with annoying ads on Youtube

I don’t block them. I don’t skip them. I let them play. That’s right. Do you want to show me your an hour long webinar-like ad? Bring it on bro.

The Social Man System  (thesocialmansys.com) Youtube ad
The thesocialmansys.com ads where the person in the first few seconds pretends she’s been very amazed by someone who went through the advertised dating course (of course it’s a paid course before which I need to be manipulated by an hour long video, just like the free webinars do – the advertiser just saved you the trouble to sign up for one 😂). She tries hard to look like she’s holding the camera (probably a marketing technique to make the video seem more authentic) even though the image doesn’t move at all, suggesting the camera is mounted on a tripod. Lmao.

If you skip the ad, the advertiser pays nothing (and the cost for displaying the ad increases, since it suggests the actual Youtube video is very interesting). That’s probably what the advertisers count on. If you let it play though, the advertiser pays. Not sure how much, but I’d bet it is related to the amount of time you spend on watching it.

So that’s what I do. I turn off the sound and let the ad play in the background. (Reporting ads as inappropriate doesn’t help, since Youtube shows them to me again and again.)

Draining their budget is one of the steps to get rid of these guys, and at the same time you’re helping the Youtube channel you’re watching.

Leave a comment